Press Track Events Points Rules Purse Register Sponsors Contact
.: July 3, 2016 Results:.

Contact: Ben Shelton (
July 3, 2016

Rick Rickman Reaps the Benefits in CCSDS at The Mag

Columbus, Mississippi (07/03/16) – Sometimes it’s best to not be in the lead on the final lap, and such was the case for Rick Rickman on Sunday evening at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

The hometown driver capitalized when leader, Dane Dacus, and second-running Hunter Rasdon tangled on the final lap of the 35-lap affair. Rickman shot from 3rd to 1st on the backstretch on the final circuit and led the final half lap to score his first-career COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil win.

“The track had got pretty tough to pass, and I knew my only chance was if Dacus and Rasdon tangled, and that’s exactly what happened there on the final lap,” said Rickman in victory lane in front of an approving crowd. “I just told myself I had to make sure I didn’t get caught up in the deal, and luckily I was able to miss it and get the win. To finally win one of these in front of my hometown crowd really means a lot to me.”

Wendell Wallace grabbed the initial lead from the New Vision Graphics Pole Position and paced the field until a lap-11 restart, when 5th-starting Dane Dacus bolted to the lead. Wallace would quickly fade before retiring two laps later.

Dacus paced the field for the next several laps, while Hunter Rasdon, Jack Sullivan, and Rick Rickman diced it up behind him atop the 3/8-mile oval.

As the race approached its closing stages Rasdon began to close on Dacus as the preferred groove became the low side. Exiting turn two on the final lap the pair tangled and both briefly slowed, which allowed Rickman to shoot past for the lead. He led the final lap for the $2,000 triumph. Jack Sullivan jumped to the runner-up spot with Dacus salvaging a 3rd, while Rasdon finished 4th with Ronny Lee Hollingsworth rounding out the Top 5.

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger went to Austin Theiss from advancing from the 21st-starting spot to a 10th-place finish. The Henryetta Ford Luck Award was claimed by Kyle Beard after engine issues following a heat-race win forced him to a back-up car and the tail of the grid.

Black Diamond Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Wendell Wallace with Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 being claimed by Jack Sullivan. M&M Paint & Construction Heat Race #3 was won by Hunter Rasdon with Kyle Beard winning Lucas Oil Heat Race #4.

The Mark Martin Powersports B-Main was won by Jamie Tollison.
The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series will enjoy a few weeks break before resuming the 2016 season on July 29 at Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, Arkansas) with a $2,000-to-win/$350-to-start program. For more information on the event, please visit .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire South, Kuntz and Co. Racing Engines, New Vision Graphics, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Henryetta Ford, Black Diamond Chassis, Mark Martin Powersports, Arctic Cat, Wilwood, Allen Manufacturing, Boston's Sports Bar and Restaurant, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Woodco, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mid-State Golf Cars, Henryetta Ford, M&M Paint and Construction, Ronald Surrett Contracting, Beach Veterinary Services, MSR Mafia Marketing, Sampson Racing Communications, AR Bodies, Schoenfeld Headers, Wilwood, Central Arkansas Pest Services and Keyser Manufacturing.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – July 3, 2016
Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, Mississippi)

Feature Results
1)Rick Rickman 2)Jack Sullivan 3)Dane Dacus 4)Hunter Rasdon 5) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth 6)Chandler Petty 7)Eric Cooley 8)Clay Fisher 9)Shay Knight 10)Austin Theiss 11)Kyle Beard 12)Jonathan Rowan 13)Billy Franklin 14)Gavin Landers 15)Brett White 16)Mason Oberkramer 17)Tony Silvestri 18)David Payne 19)Wendell Wallace 20)Stacy Taylor 21)Blake Koenigsberger 22)Jamie Tollison

Entries: 27 Representing Five States (AL, AR, MO, MS, TX)
Group A Fast Qualifier (and Overall): Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (14.157 seconds)
Group B Fast Qualifier: Hunter Rasdon (14.185 seconds)
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Wendell Wallace
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Jack Sullivan
M&M Paint & Construction Heat Race #3 Winner: Hunter Rasdon
Lucas Oil Heat Race #4: Kyle Beard
Mark Martin Powersports B-Main Winner: Jamie Tollison
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Wendell Wallace
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Kyle Beard
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Austin Theiss (21st to 10th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Rick Rickman
Leaders: Wendell Wallace (1-10), Dane Dacus (11-34), Rick Rickman (35)
Cautions: 3

Magnolia Motor Speedway July 3rd Results

Car Count 86
Super Late Models 27
NeSmith Late Models 28
Street Stocks 18
Factory Stocks 13

NeSmith Late Models
1- 73 Evan Ellis
2- 8 Grant Pearl
3- 1s Jeremy Shaw
4- 2 Mark Stokes
5- 2s Kyle Shaw
6- 232 Jamie Tollison
7- 72 Steve Russell
8- 2 Tyler Burgess
9- 147 Hunter Carroll
10- 7 Eric Carr
11- 25 Justin McRee
12- 311 Henry Pullen
13- 11 Tim Dees
14- 1c Nich Thrash
15- 79 Billy Flannagan
16- 21 Jamie Pickard
17- 11 Joey Mullinex
18- 50 Allen Simmons
19- 4G Shelby Sheedy
20- 21 David Brocato
21- 10 Steven Jones
22- 4 Aaron Cummings
23- 181 Chad Williams
24- 1m Neil Baggett
25- 713 Ben Brocato
26- 20 Larry Stacy
27- 84 Randall Beckwith
28- 7 Jon Biles

Street Stocks
1- 2 Lee Ray
2- 11 Spencer Hughes
3- 50 Trey Rickman
4- 53 Scooter Ware
5- 11 Jamie Sudduth
6- 87 Tody Ratcliff
7- 511 Jeffery Walker
8- 26 Doug Dodd
9- 13 Mark Barnett
10- 12 Darrell Goins
11- 01 Greg Wilkins
12- 41 Billy Walker
13- 25 Brodey Elfring
14- 30 Billy Ellington
15- 2 Blake Ewing
16- 16 Terry Taylor
17- 4 Matt Byram
18- R1 Reno Burr

Factory Stocks
1- 5 Heath Beard
2- UFO Chris Howell
3- 4 Jennifer Byrd
4- 22 John Beard
5- 47 Brad Gable
6- 77 Brandon Whitley
7- 16 Robert Eaton
8- 34 Jeff Phillips
9- 7 Zach Shelton
10- 9 Ellie Hughes
11- 15 Matt Haney
12- 4 John Johnson
13- 1 Jay Collum